الصندوق العالمي لنزع الأسلحة النووية

صندوق GND في العالم

 

 

جيلروي دسباتش، الثلاثاء، 19 يوليو 2005

جيلروي دسباتش

"الشعلة الذرية" تنير هوليستر

الثلاثاء، 19 يوليو 2005
بقلم: إرين موسغريف

هوليستر -

في عصر التهديدات الإرهابية وحالات التأهب الشديد والتفجيرات الانتحارية، نقلت مجموعة من الرهبان البوذيين معركتها ضد أسلحة الدمار الشامل والوعي الاجتماعي الذي يقبلها إلى شوارع هوليستر في مسيرة "الشعلة الذرية" يوم الإثنين.

أربعة من الرهبان وبضعة من المؤيدين شقوا طريقهم على الطريق السريع هاي وي 25 وعبر وسط هوليستر حاملين فانوسًا أحمر يحتوي على شعلة ظلت مشتعلة منذ أن ألقيت قنبلة ذرية على هيروشيما في اليابان قبل حوالى 60 عامًا.

الشعلة التي أشعلت من الجمر المأخوذ من مدينة هيروشيما أبقيت مشتعلة في اليابان طوال العقود الستة الماضية وسيتم إطفاؤها أخيرًا عندما يصل الرهبان إلى وجهتهم الشهر القادم، طبقًا لموقع الإنترنت الخاص بالمجموعة.

المجموعة التي بدأت رحلتها التي تستمر ثلاثة أسابيع ونصف الأسبوع في سان فرانسيسكو يوم السبت ستعبر ثلاث ولايات وحوالى 1600 ميلاً على الأقدام قبل الوصول إلى وجهتها وهي موقع ترينيتي في نيو مكسيكو حيث تم تفجير أول سلاح نووي في 16 يوليو 1945. لكن المجموعة تخطط للوصول إلى موقع وايت ساندس لاختبار الصواريخ في 9 أغسطس – الذي يصادف الذكرى السنوية الستين لتدمير ناغاساكي بواسطة القنبلة الذرية المعروفة باسم "الرجل السمين"، طبقًا لكيغاكو، وهو راهب زِن من طائفة سوتو.

قال كيغاكو: "عن طريق إحضار الشعلة الذرية الفعلية إلى مكان ولادة (القنبلة)، نغلق الدورة التي بدأت قبل 60 عامًا. وهذا ينشر الوعي بما حدث." "بالنسبة لي، يمكنني من خلال المسيرة أن أنظر إلى داخلي وأرى ما لدي – أن أسأل نفسي عما آمل أن أجلبه لهذا العالم: السلام والرحمة والقبول."

يقطن كيغاكو في سان فرانسيسكو منذ 19 عامً، لكن ثلاثة من مرافقيه، وكلهم يرتدون أثوابًا وصنادل وأغطية رأس تقليدية، سافروا من اليابان للانضمام للمسيرة، على حد قوله.

ليندا روما، من سكان مورغان هيل، وتعمل في وزارة الزراعة في هوليستر، رافقت المجموعة على الطريق السريع هاي وي 25 عند هدنر لين بعد ظهر يوم الإثنين.

وقد خصصت وقتًا للسير مع المجموعة لبعض الوقت لأنها تؤمن بهدفهم.

"آمل أن يجعل ذلك الناس أكثر إدراكًا أن السلام إمكانية قائمة،" قالت روما. "ويتعين أن يبدأ هنا في هوليستر أو في منطقتك."

جيلروي دسباتش

الصندوق العالمي لنزع الأسلحة النووية
شارع One Market، بناية Spear Tower الجناح 3600، سان فرانسيسكو كاليفورنيا، 94105

حقوق الطبع(C) 2008 الصندوق العالمي لنزع الأسلحة النووية جميع الحقوق محفوظة.

Global Nuclear Disarmament Fund English Japanese Chinese French Spanish Korean German Russian Arabic

Global Nuclear Disarmament Fund

GNDFund World

 

 

Gilroy Dispatch, Tuesday, July 19, 2005

Gilroy Dispatch

‘Atomic flame’ enlightens Hollister

Tuesday, July 19, 2005
By Erin Musgrave

Hollister -

In an age of terrorist threats, high alerts and suicide bombings, a group of Buddhist monks brought their fight against weapons of mass destruction and the social consciousness that accepts them to the streets of Hollister in the “Atomic Flame” walk Monday.

Four monks and a handful of supporters made their way down Highway 25 and through downtown Hollister carrying a red lantern housing a flame that has been burning since an atomic bomb was dropped on Hiroshima, Japan, nearly 60 years ago.

The flame, which was kindled from the embers of the city of Hiroshima, has been kept alive in Japan for the past six decades and finally will be extinguished when the monks reach their destination next month, according to the group’s Web site.

The group, which began its three and a half week-long journey in San Francisco Saturday, will cross three states and nearly 1,600 miles on foot before reaching their destination of Trinity Site, N.M., where the world’s first nuclear weapon was detonated on July 16, 1945. However, they plan to arrive at the White Sands Missile Range on Aug. 9 - marking the 60th anniversary of the day the atomic bomb known as “Fat Man” destroyed Nagasaki, according to Soto Zen monk, Keigaku.

“ By bringing back the actual atomic flame to the birthplace (of the bomb), we close the circle that started 60 years ago. It brings awareness to what took place,” Keigaku said. “For me, by walking, I can look inside me and see what I have - to ask myself what I hope to bring in this world: Peace, compassion, acceptance.”

Keigaku has been a resident of San Francisco for the past 19 years, but three of his companions, all dressed in traditional robes, sandals and head wear, traveled from Japan to join the walk, he said.

Morgan Hill resident, Linda Roma, who works for the Department of Agriculture in Hollister, accompanied the group along Highway 25 at Hudner Lane Monday afternoon.

She took the time to walk with the group for awhile because she believes in their cause.

“ I hope that it would make people more aware that peace is a possibility,” Roma said. “And it has to start right here in Hollister or in your neighborhood.”

Gilroy Dispatch

Global Nuclear Disarmament Fund -STRATEGIC STUDIES INSTITUTE-
250 West Avenue Mount Carmel, PA 17851

copyright(C) 2008 Global Nuclear Disarmament Fund all rights reserved.

Global Nuclear Disarmament Fund English Japanese Chinese French Spanish Korean German Russian Arabic