الصندوق العالمي لنزع الأسلحة النووية

 

صندوق GND في العالم

 

 

سان فرانسيسكو كرونيكل، الأحد، 17 يوليو 2005

سان فرانسيسكو

سان فرانسيسكو
الرهبان وناشطو السلام يستخدمون مسيرة لإبراز فظائع الحرب

عطلة نهاية الأسبوع الحالي تصادف ذكرى مرور 60 عامًا على بدء العصر النووي.

في موقع اختبارات سرّي للغاية قرب موقع ترينيتي في نيو مكسيكو، نجح العلماء في تفجير سلاح ذري لأول مرة – ممهدين الطريق لإسقاط زوج من القنابل النووية على اليابان بعدها بشهر واحد لإنهاء الحرب العالمية الثانية.

يوم السبت، بدأت مجموعة صغيرة من الرهبان من طائفة زِن وناشطي سلام مسيرة لمسافة 1600 ميلاً من سان فرانسيسكو إلى موقع ترينيتي للاختبارات في نيو مكسيكو لتذكير العالم بفظائع الحرب النووية والمساعدة على ضمان عدم استخدام الأسلحة النووية مرة أخرى أبدًا.

بعض الرهبان حضروا من اليابان على متن السفينة نيبون مارو حاملين فانوسًا أشعل من شعلة سلام شهيرة في اليابان. الشعلة بدورها أوقدت أصلاً من جمر هيروشيما بعد أن تعرضت للقصف بواسطة قنبلة نووية في أغسطس 1945.

كيري آن غارليك، 34 سنة، ناشطة سلام من ملبورن في أستراليا، قالت إنها كانت واحدة من حوالى أربع وعشرين شخصًا سيقومون بالرحلة كلها. لكنها قالت إن مئات المتطوعين الآخرين سيسيرون أجزاءً قصيرة من الرحلة. وقالت: "لن ننسى أبدًا" هيروشيما. وأضافت: "إننا نقوم بالمسيرة لهذا السبب."

تأتي المسيرة التي تستمر 25 يومًا أيضًا في الوقت الذي بات الكثير من ناشطي السلام يركزون بدرجة أكبر على العنف والأعمال الحربية التقليدية، وخاصة في الشرق الأوسط. فمع انتهاء الحرب الباردة أصبح معظم الأميركيين قلقين حول إمكانية حدوث أعمال إرهابية أكثر من قلقهم حول الحرب النووية.

ولكن في مهرجان أقيم السبت قرب رصيف بحري رقم 39، حاول بعض الناشطين إعادة الأضواء مجددًا إلى احتمالات الحرب النووية.

"الوقت متأخر. والخطر عظيم." قال بروس بلير، الأخصائي النووي بمركز معلومات الدفاع، وهي هيئة أبحاث لا تسعى لتحقيق الربح مقرها واشنطن دي سي. وكان بلير قد عمل كضابط لإطلاق الصواريخ في برنامج مينيتمان للصواريخ النووية العابرة للقارات في سبعينيات القرن العشرين.

ممثل أفلام الحركة ستيفين سيغال أيضًا تحدث بإيجاز. وكان قد تعهد مؤخرًا بدفع 100 ألف دولار لنزع تسليح صاروخ نووي في روسيا وقال إنه يجب على كل إنسان أن يفعل ما يستطيع لمحاربة الأسلحة النووية.

وقال سيغال: "نحن الشعوب علينا أن نتحمل مسئولية ذلك لأنه في حال حدوث أي خطأ في أي من هذه الأشياء فسنعاني جميعًا."

أما تاكاشي تانيموري، 67 سنة، فقد قدّم وصفًا مؤثرًا للكيفية التي تأثر بها هو شخصيًا جراء الانفجار عندما كان ولدًا في هيروشيما.

قال تانيموري إنه فقد والديه واثنين من أجداده واثنتين من أخواته في الانفجار. وقال تانيموري إن الجانب الأيسر من جسده كان محترقًا بشدة بسبب الانفجار لدرجة أن عمال الإغاثة صنعوا له صندوق لحرقه بعد وفاته متصوّرين أنه لن ينجو.

على الرغم من أن تانيموري انتقل إلى الولايات المتحدة عندما كان عمره 18 عامًا – حيث عمل مبدئيًا في قطف العنب في سنترال فالي – إلا أنه قال إنه احتاج لعقود لكي يغفر فعليًا لوطنه المتبنّى لإقدامه على عملية القصف. وقال إن والده ظهر له أخيرًا في المنام محذرًا إياه من أن الانتقام يولّد الانتقام.

ليست هذه هي المرة الأولى التي يحمل فيها ناشطو السلام الشعلة الذرية من اليابان إلى نيو مكسيكو.

فمنذ ثلاث سنوات، قامت جماعة حجاج شعلة هيروشيما من مختلف الأديان بحمل الشعلة إلى لوس ألاموس حيث قام العلماء بتطوير أول أسلحة نووية كجزء من مشروع مانهاتن.

في يوم السبت، كان من المقرر أن يسير الرهبان إلى متنزه SBC ثم إلى بالو ألتو.

تقوم كنيسة ستانفورد ميموريال باستضافة صلاة للرهبان الساعة 8 صباح هذا اليوم قبل أن يتابعوا رحلتهم إلى سان هوسيه حيث من المقرر أن يقام المهرجان في الحي الياباني الساعة 7 مساءً.

هناك المزيد من المعلومات عن المسيرة على العنوان www.gndfund.org.

البريد الإلكتروني Todd Wallack على العنوان: twallack@sfchronicle.com

صفحة A - 26
حقوق الطبع 2005 SF Chronicle

الصندوق العالمي لنزع الأسلحة النووية
شارع One Market، بناية Spear Tower الجناح 3600، سان فرانسيسكو كاليفورنيا، 94105

حقوق الطبع(C) 2008 الصندوق العالمي لنزع الأسلحة النووية جميع الحقوق محفوظة.

Global Nuclear Disarmament Fund English Japanese Chinese French Spanish Korean German Russian Arabic

Global Nuclear Disarmament Fund

 

GNDFund World

 

 

San Francisco Chronicle, Sunday, July 17, 2005

San Francisco Chronicle

SAN FRANCISCO
Monks, peace activists use walk to spotlight the horrors of war

Sixty years ago this weekend, the nuclear age began.

At a top secret test site near Trinity Site, N.M., scientists successfully exploded an atomic weapon for the first time -- paving the way for a pair of nuclear bombs to be dropped on Japan a month later to end World War II.

On Saturday, a small band of Zen Monks and peace activists began a 1,600- mile walk from San Francisco to the Trinity Test Site in New Mexico to remind the world of the horrors of nuclear war and to help ensure the weapons are never used again.

Some of the monks traveled from Japan aboard the Nippon Maru ship, carrying a lantern that was lit from a famous peace flame in Japan. The flame, in turn, was originally kindled from the embers of Hiroshima, after it was hit by a nuclear bomb in August 1945.

Kerrie Ann Garlick, 34, a peace activist from Melbourne, Australia, said she was one of about two dozen people who would make the entire journey. But she said hundreds more volunteers would walk short sections of the route. "We will never forget'' Hiroshima, she said. "That's why we walk."

The 25-day walk also comes at a time when many peace activists have been more focused on conventional violence and warfare, especially in the Middle East. With the end of the Cold War, most Americans have also been more concerned about the possibility of terrorism than a nuclear war.

But at a rally Saturday near Pier 39, some activists tried to tilt the spotlight back toward the potential for nuclear war.

"The hour is late. The danger is great," said Bruce Blair, a nuclear specialist with the Center for Defense Information, a nonprofit Washington, D. C., research organization. Blair served as a launch officer for the Minuteman intercontinental nuclear missile program in the 1970s.

Action movie star Steven Seagal also spoke briefly. He recently pledged $100,000 to pay for disarming a nuclear missile in Russia and said everyone must do what they can to fight nuclear weapons.

"We the people have to take responsibility for this, because if any of this goes awry, we will all suffer," Seagal said.

Takashi Tanemori, 67, of Lafayette gave an emotional account of how he was personally affected by the explosion when he was a boy in Hiroshima.

Tanemori said he had lost his parents, two of his grandparents and two of his sisters in the blast. Tanemori said the left side of his body was so badly seared from the blast that aid workers built a cremation box for him, figuring he wouldn't survive either.

Though Tanemori moved to the United States when he was 18 -- initially picking grapes in the Central Valley -- he said it had taken decades longer to truly forgive his adopted home for the bombing. He said his father finally appeared to him in a dream, warning him that revenge begets revenge.

This isn't the first time peace activists have carried the atomic flame from Japan to New Mexico.

Three years ago, the Hiroshima Flame Interfaith Pilgrimage group carried the flame to Los Alamos, where scientists developed the first nuclear weapons as part of the Manhattan Project.

On Saturday, the monks were scheduled to walk to SBC Park and then on to Palo Alto.

Stanford Memorial Church will host a service for the monks at 8 a.m. this morning before they continue on to San Jose, where a rally is a slated to be held in Japan Town at 7 p.m.

More information on the walk is available at www.gndfund.org.

E-mail Todd Wallack at twallack@sfchronicle.com.

Page A - 26
Copyright 2005 SF Chronicle

Global Nuclear Disarmament Fund -STRATEGIC STUDIES INSTITUTE-
250 West Avenue Mount Carmel, PA 17851

copyright(C) 2008 Global Nuclear Disarmament Fund all rights reserved.

Global Nuclear Disarmament Fund English Japanese Chinese French Spanish Korean German Russian Arabic